Varanasi expressway can take you from Kolkata to Delhi in only 17 hours

If all goes well, a late-evening drive from Delhi three years from now could “land” you in Kolkata for lunch the next day.

The current journey duration:

The promise of such a “flight-like” cruise comes from the proposed Varanasi-Kolkata greenfield expressway that would make a Delhi-Kolkata trip possible in 17 hours. It takes several hours more now. The Delhi-Varanasi journey has already become possible in a little over 10 hours via the Purvanchal, Lucknow-Agra and Yamuna expressways.

Words from government officials:

Officials said: “The Rs 3,000-crore Varanasi-Kolkata expressway is expected to be ready by 2026. Once ready, it is likely to reduce the travel time between the cities to 6-7 hours. The alignment of the proposed expressway was finalised and approved at a meeting in September 2021 led by the Union road transport and highways secretary to connect key cities through the highway and its spurs to save time and costs.”

The proposed route:

The proposed expressway will pass through Mohania, Rohtas, Sasaram, Aurangabad, Gaya, Chatra, Hazaribagh, Ranchi, Bokaro, Dhanbad, Ramgarh, Purulia, Bankura, Paschim Medinipur, Hooghly and Howrah. Divisional commissioner Kaushal Raj Sharma said initial demarcation of land for the expressway has been done in Chandauli, near Varanasi, but a detailed project report is awaited.

More details about the project:

‘Complete process at earliest once DPR is submitted’

The Chandauli DM has been asked to complete this at the earliest.

Currently, most traffic between Varanasi and Kolkata is through NH-19 (old NH-2), part of the Golden Quadrilateral. Most of NH-19 is six-lane, with many four-lane stretches.

According to NHAI, the access-controlled expressway from Varanasi to Kolkata will start from Varanasi Ring Road in Chandauli district and meet NH-16 near Uluberia in Bengal’s Howrah district.

The Varanasi-Kolkata Expressway, also known as the Varanasi-Ranchi-Kolkata Expressway, is an upcoming access-controlled expressway that has been approved to run for 610 km with six lanes.

The project is a part of the Bharatmala Pariyojana (BMP) program and will link Varanasi Ring Road at Km 00.000 (near Barhuli village) with NH-16 at Km 610.417 near Uluberia, Howrah District, West Bengal.

The expressway is scheduled to be completed and inaugurated in 2026. In Bihar, the land acquisition process for an 80 km section from Tilouthu to Imamganj began in January 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button