Rajasthan stone, Mirzapur carpets, and Nagpur teakwood: How has the new Parliament been built?

The construction of the new Parliament imbibes the spirit of 'Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat'.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, on Sunday, will inaugurate the new parliament building in Delhi. While the details regarding the inauguration have not been announced, the information about the details of the parliament building are quite interesting, to say the least.

As most of us are aware, the construction of the new Parliament Building was a mammoth task. However in order to reflect the vibrant colours and diversity of India, various materials were sourced from different parts of India, thereby imbibing the spirit of 'Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat'.

Be it carpets from Uttar Pradesh's Mirzapur to stone carvings from Rajasthan, here’s all you need to know on what comes from where:

  1. The red and white sandstone is from Sarmathura in Rajasthan. The sandstone for the Red Fort and Humayun's Tomb in Delhi has also been reportedly sourced from Sarmathura.
  2. The teakwood has been sourced from Nagpur in Maharashtra.
  3. The Kesharia green stone has been sourced from Udaipur, while the red granite from Lakha near Ajmer. The white marble has been sourced from Ambaji in Rajasthan.
  4. The furniture of the parliament building was crafted in Mumbai.
  5. The steel structure for the false ceilings is from Daman and Diu.
  6. The stone ‘jaali’ (lattice) works were sourced from Rajnagar in Rajasthan and Noida in Uttar Pradesh.
  7. The materials for the Ashoka Emblem are from Aurangabad in Maharashtra and Jaipur in Rajasthan.
  8. The stone carvings are by sculptors from Abu Road and Udaipur.
  9. The fly ash bricks, used in the construction, were procured from Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.
  10. The brass works and precast trenches are from Ahmedabad in Gujarat.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, during the inauguration, will also install the historical and sacred 'Sengol' in the building, a symbol of the transfer of power from the British to India.

The new Parliament building can seat 888 members in the Lok Sabha chamber and 300 in the Rajya Sabha chamber.