Extraordinary Season Pays Off As Erling Haaland, Sam Kerr Bag FWA Awards

The Football Writers’ Association (FWA) selected Erling Haaland of Manchester City and Sam Kerr of Chelsea as the men’s and women’s footballers of the year, respectively.

Two of the obvious choices end up winning the Football Writers’ Association Player of the year award as the 2022-23 season is coming to a close. It’s the worldwide sensation Erling Haaland of Norway, who broke several records in his first season at Etihad who triumphed to the award piping Saka to the 2nd. Meanwhile, it was a consecutive win for Chelsea forward Miranda Kerr, who became the first player to achieve such a landmark.

On May 25, during a special Footballer of the Year event that will commemorate the 75th anniversary of Sir Stanley Matthews’ 1948 win of the honour, Haaland and Kerr will be presented with their prizes.

Statement from FWA on Haaland

The FWA has said on the organisation’s official website: “Haaland won by a huge margin after his sensational debut season in England, scoring 51 goals so far for Manchester City as they aim for a remarkable treble. For a while he was neck and neck with Bukayo Saka in the voting among our 800 or so members, but eventually won by a landslide.”

Statement from FWA on Kerr

“Chelsea striker Kerr becomes the first back-to-back winner of the Women’s Footballer of the Year. The Australian polled twice as many votes as Rachel Daly of Aston Villa and England, who edged out Chelsea’s Lauren James (four votes). In total 25 different players got votes in the WFOTY poll.”

Summary of the Season – Haaland

The transfer of Haaland to City from Dortmund grabbed the eyeballs of the football community all over the world. At the end of the season it looks like a great decision as City are in contention of winning the treble in UEFA Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup. The Norwegian has scored a massive 51 goals in all tournaments this season. Out of thsoe, 35 came in the PL, with 4 matches still to go. 35 is already a new record in terms of most goals scored by a player in PL.

Summary of the Season – Kerr

The Australian striker Kerr is the first person to win Women’s Footballer of the Year twice. In 34 club games this season, she has scored 26 goals, including 10 in the Women’s Super League. Chelsea Women’s are in contention of winning the Women’s Super League with just one point behind the league leaders Manchester United. They also have a game in hand.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button