Players to have won 3 BBL titles

Only five players have won three BBL titles in the history of The Big Bash League.

Adam Voges (Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers won third and the fourth editions of The Big Bash League in 2013-14 and 2014-15 respectively. After reaching the semifinals in the next edition, the team won the BBL title again in 2016-17. On each of these three occasions, they had talented batsman Adam Voges in their ranks.

Voges played a total of 54 matches in the BBL and scored over 1000 runs. He did not have the best of strike rates but was known to be a reliable batsman. Voges averaged 28.11 and stuck at 133.96. His top score was 58 and he struck 14 sixes and 81 fours in the competition. From the 839 balls he faced, Voges remained unbeaten on 12 occasions while striking four half centuries.

Sam Whiteman (Scorchers)

Talented wicketkeeper batsman Sam Whiteman was also part of the Perth Scorchers on all the three occasions when they lifted the BBL title. Whiteman played 32 matches in the Big Bash League and scored 506 runs at an average of 16.87 and a strike rate of 119.91.

He had the best of 68 and struck 13 sixes and 46 fours in the competition. Whiteman faced a total of 422 balls in the BBL and remained unbeaten twice while hitting 2 50s as well.

Moises Henriques (Sixers)

Sydney Sixers won the inaugural edition of The Big Bash League in 2011-12. They did not have a very good run in the middle phase but have now bounced back with back-to-back titles. The team lifted the BBL Trophy in 2019-20 and doubled up with another title victory in the recently-concluded edition of the BBL. Moises Henriques has been part of the franchise on all the three occasions.

The all rounder has represented Sydney Sixers in 87 matches and has scored 1920 runs. He has the best of 77 and has struck 66 sixes and 137 fours in the competition. Henriques has scored his runs at an average of 27.94 and a strike rate 131.40.

He has been decent with the ball as well, bowling at an economy rate of 8.21 with the best of 2/22.

Steve O’Keefe (Sixers) and Dan Christian (Heat, Renegades & Sixers) are the only other players to have won the BBL trophy thrice. Christian has tasted success for three different BBL teams.

Back to top button