Published By: Admin

IPL Recap: The Largest Win Margins in IPL Eliminator History

Nathan Coulter-Nile and Umesh Yadav put up a stellar bowling performance, restricting Hyderabad to just 128 runs in the Eliminator

The Eliminator is a crucial match in the Indian Premier League's (IPL) playoff stage, where the third—and fourth-ranked teams from the league phase face off. In contrast to other playoff games, the Eliminator's winner advances to play in Qualifier 2 in hopes of making it to the final. At the same time, the loser is instantly eliminated from the competition. This high-stakes match is known for its intense competition and dramatic moments, embodying the thrilling spirit of IPL cricket.

As the IPL 2024 playoffs commence, it's a perfect time to revisit some of the most memorable and dominating wins in IPL Eliminator history.

Mumbai team is ecstatic about Akash Madhwal after he went five for five

MI vs. LSG, 2023

Last year, Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 81 runs. Akash Madhwal's remarkable bowling, claiming 5 for 5 in 3.3 overs, stood out, equalling the best Indian IPL figures.  5 for 5 in 3.3 overs. Batting first, MI posted 182 for 8, thanks to crucial contributions from Cameron Green (41) and Suryakumar Yadav (33) and a late surge by Nehal Wadhera.LSG's Naveen-ul-Haq took 4 for 38, dismissing key batsmen Suryakumar and Green quickly with well-disguised cutters.

MI used their Impact Sub intelligently. After being brought on to replace Suryakumar, Nehal Wadhera was very important in the last part of the innings. With MI needing a boost, Wadhera smashed 23 off 12 balls, including two fours and a six in the final over, helping MI to a competitive total. LSG collapsed from 74 for 3 to 101 all out. Madhwal's spell and LSG's poor running compounded their woes, with Mumbai's spinners dominating.

Gautam Gambhir's unbeaten 32 guided Kolkata Knight Riders to victory

SRH vs. KKR, 2017

Nathan Coulter-Nile and Umesh Yadav put up a stellar bowling performance, restricting Hyderabad to 128 runs in the Eliminator. Kolkata chased down the revised target of 48 in six overs with seven wickets in hand, securing a seven-wicket victory via the Duckworth-Lewis method. Coulter-Nile, Yadav, and Trent Boult capitalized on the early bounce offered by the surface, keeping Hyderabad's top order in check.

Despite starts from David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, and Kane Williamson, Hyderabad struggled to score freely. Yadav's economical spell, conceding just seven runs in his initial two overs, piled pressure on the opposition. Coulter-Nile's breakthroughs of 3/20 further dented Hyderabad's momentum, ensuring they could only manage a modest total.

RCB vs. RR, 2015

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) secured a convincing victory over Rajasthan Royals (RR), winning by 71 runs. AB de Villiers showcased his brilliance with a stunning 66 off 38 balls, while Mandeep Singh's crucial unbeaten 54* propelled Royal Challengers to 180 for 4. Despite early setbacks, they capitalized on a grassy pitch, with de Villiers and Mandeep adding 113 runs for the third wicket. Royals faltered in their chase, losing wickets regularly and failing to mount a significant challenge.

With top-order failures and no substantial partnerships, they succumbed to pressure, ultimately falling short by a significant margin. Royal Challengers' bowlers, led by Harshal Patel, S Aravind, and Yuzvendra Chahal, maintained control, restricting Royals to just 109. James Faulkner and Chris Morris endured tough outings, with their expensive spells contributing to Royals' downfall.

MI vs. CSK, 2014

Chennai Super Kings won by seven wickets over Mumbai Indians. Mumbai's strong start faltered in the final overs, going from 140 for 2 to 173 for 8. Lendl Simmons' half-century set a promising foundation, but Mumbai struggled against accurate bowling from the Super Kings. Despite a fighting total in sight, Mumbai lost wickets regularly. Chennai's spinners, led by Ravindra Jadeja, proved pivotal, conceding just 57 runs in eight overs.

Super Kings began steadily in response before Praveen Kumar's lbw appeal against Dwayne Smith was denied. However, Harbhajan Singh's spin brought Mumbai back into the game, dismissing both openers. Suresh Raina's composed innings, supported by David Hussey, ensured a comfortable chase, with Raina's timely six marking a turning point. Raina's milestone equalled the record for most scores of 50 or more in IPL history.