IPL 2023: MS Dhoni’s Final Participation Hangs in Balance Amidst Slow Over-Rate Controversy

On Tuesday, the shrewd Mahendra Singh Dhoni not only led the Chennai Super Kings ( CSK) to yet another IPL final but also displayed clever gamesmanship.

MS Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, faces the possibility of being banned from participating in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 final. Dhoni’s previous fine for a slow rate of play now puts him at risk of missing the showdown scheduled at the Narendra Modi Stadium on May 28, Sunday.

In the intense clash between GT and CSK in Qualifier 1, Mahendra Singh Dhoni engaged in a heated argument with the umpires, resulting in a four-minute delay. Dhoni’s strategic manoeuvring not only led Chennai Super Kings to the IPL final but also created an opportunity for Matheesha Pathirana to deliver a crucial 16th over against Gujarat Titans in the qualifier.

CSK seals historic final berth

In a thrilling encounter at their home ground, MA Chidambaram Stadium, CSK emerged victorious over the defending champion Gujarat Titans by a margin of 15 runs. This win secured CSK’s qualification for an unprecedented 10th final, as they triumphed over the IPL 2022 winners for the first time in four matches.

During the match, an incident occurred involving CSK bowler Matheesha Pathirana. Despite his impressive figures of 4-0-37-2, which included dismissing the dangerous Vijay Shankar and Mohammed Shami, Pathirana was denied the opportunity to bowl his second spell during the crucial death overs.

Pathirana’s field departure raises bowling queries

During the second half of the chase, Pathirana temporarily left the field due to an undisclosed injury concern. As per IPL playing conditions, if a player is off the field for more than eight minutes, they must spend an equivalent duration on the field after returning before being eligible to bowl.

However, upon Pathirana’s return, Dhoni instructed him to bowl the 16th over, despite the Gujarat Titans requiring 71 runs off 30 balls and struggling at a score of 102 for six.

Dhoni’s conversation with umpire Gaffaney

According to ESPN CricInfo, Dhoni engaged in a conversation with umpire Chris Gaffaney regarding the situation. The commentary noted that Pathirana was off the field for approximately nine minutes, and the discussion centred around his eligibility to bowl.

Pathirana’s delayed bowling decision

The report indicated that match officials informed Dhoni that Pathirana would have to wait further before being able to bowl. Dhoni acknowledged the situation but expressed that he had no choice but to make Pathirana bowl.

These discussions consumed a total of four minutes, following which Pathirana was granted permission to resume bowling after a suitable period of eight minutes had elapsed. Although Pathirana did not secure a wicket in that particular over, he managed to claim one in his subsequent over.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button