Federation Cup 2023 Senior Athletics Championships: Jyothi Yarraji Clinches Gold in 100m Hurdles

Jyothi Yarraji posted a meet-record time of 12.89s and also breached the Asian Championships qualifying standard of 13.63s.

Jyothi Yarraji won the women’s 100-metre hurdles gold with ease and bettered her own meet record on the penultimate day of the Federation Cup Senior Athletics Championships here on Wednesday.

Yarraji, representing Andhra Pradesh, had set a meet record (13.18 seconds) in the heats of the women’s 100-metre hurdles on Tuesday. She further improved the meet record to 12.89 seconds on her way to winning gold on Wednesday.

She also bettered the qualification standard of 13.63 seconds set by the Athletics Federation of India for the Asian Championships to be held in Bangkok from July 12–16.

Tamil Nadu’s R. Nithya Ramraj was a distant second with a time of 13.44 seconds, while Sapna Kumari of Jharkhand was third with 13.58 seconds.

Winners of other events

The men’s 110-metre hurdles gold went to Maharashtra’s Tejas Ashok Shirse. He was far ahead of his competitors, clocking 13.72 seconds.

Punjab’s Twinkle will be one to watch in the final of the women’s 800m scheduled for Thursday. In her heat on Wednesday, she clocked 2:05.39 to breach the Asian qualifying mark of 2:05.74 seconds.

On the men’s side, only two athletes posted a time below 1 minute, 50 seconds in the 800 metre heats.

While Ankesh Chaudhary of Himachal Pradesh clocked 1:49.73 seconds in his heat, Anu Kumar of Uttarakhand clocked 1:49.93 seconds.

Weather hampered safe proceedings

Towards the end of the day’s competitions, rain and thunderstorms hit the Birsa Munda Stadium, and the floodlights went out briefly, leaving the whole arena dark. The participating athletes had to run to safer places.

The blackout happened just after the men’s 200-metre heat races. But the competitions resumed after a brief halt of around 15 minutes, according to an official.

The 200-metre women’s heptathlon event was completed, as was the men’s 400-metre hurdles, the last event of the day.

Day 3 medal winners

Women’s 100m hurdles: 1. Jyothi Yarraji (12.89s); 2. R Nithya Ramraj (13.44s); 3. Sapna Kumari (13.58s).

Women’s discus throw: 1. Shalini Chaudhary (49.35m); 2. Paramjot Kaur (48.76m); 3. Salmi Kispotta (46.31 m).

Men’s 110m hurdles: 1. Tejas Ashok Shirse (13.72s); 2. Madhvendra Sing Shekhawat (14.01s); 3. Sachin Binu (14.23s).

Men’s hammer throw: 1. Damneet Singh (64.91m); 2. Taranveer Singh Bains (64.81m); 3. Lokesh Poonia (57.61m).